Nuremberg Moot Court 2020

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the International Nuremberg Principles Academy and the International Criminal Law Research Unit at Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg decided to cancel the oral rounds of the Nuremberg Moot Court that were to be held in Nuremberg, Germany, from 29 July to 1 August 2020.

Because we were conscious that teams had invested time and effort on the written memoranda, we decided to maintain the written phase of the competition.

The Nuremberg Moot Court 2020 ended on 19 June 2020 after the participation in the written round of more than 250 students from 63 universities located in 40 countries.

The 2020 case focused on the topical issues of “climate refugees”, immigration, and hate speech, as well as deportation and murder as crimes against humanity, allowing participants to address the relationship between international criminal law and international human rights law.

On 19 June 2020, participants were invited to participate in the online award ceremony on our Facebook page where Director Klaus Rackwitz and Professor Christoph Safferling announced the winners. The ceremony was followed by a compilation of short introductory videos prepared by the teams.

Winners of the Nuremberg Moot Court 2020 (Best Memoranda)

1st Place: Maastricht University – The Netherlands

Memorandum Prosecution Memorandum Defense

2nd Place: The London School of Economics and Political Science – United Kingdom

Memorandum Prosecution Memorandum Defense

Best Memorandum – Prosecution Award

1st Best Memorandum: National University of "Kyiv-Mohyla Academy" – Ukraine

1st Best Memorandum Prosecution

2nd Best Memorandum: Kenya School of Law – Kenya and Maastricht University – The Netherlands

2nd Best Memorandum Prosecution

Best Memorandum – Defense Award

1st Best Memorandum: Maastricht University – The Netherlands

1st Best Memorandum Defense

2nd Best Memorandum: Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University – India

2nd Best Memorandum Defense


Embedded YouTube video

Note: This embedded video is provided by YouTube, LLC, 901 Cherry Ave, San Bruno, CA 94066, USA.

During playback, a connection to the YouTube servers is established. This tells YouTube which pages you are visiting. If you are logged into your YouTube account, YouTube can assign your surfing behavior to you personally. You can prevent this by logging out of your YouTube account beforehand.

When a YouTube video is started, the provider uses cookies that collect information about user behavior.

Those who have deactivated the storage of cookies for the Google Ads program will not have to expect any such cookies when watching YouTube videos. However, YouTube also stores non-personal usage information in other cookies. If you would like to prevent this, you must block the storage of cookies in the browser.

For more information on data protection at "YouTube", please refer to the provider's privacy policy at: https://www.google.de/intl/en/policies/privacy/

Video of the Online Award Ceremony of the Nuremberg Moot Court 2020

Participating Universities


Bahir Dar University
Kenya School of Law
Kenyatta University
Makerere University
Obafemi Awolowo University
Tshwane University of Technology
University of Calabar
University of Dar es Salaam
University of Kigali
University of Zululand


Creighton University School of Law
Toledo Prudente Centro Universitário
Universidade Federal do Paraná


Baku State University
Georgian Institute of Public Affairs
Indus College of Law
Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University
Jamia Millia Islamia
Kyrgyz-Russian Slavic University
National Law College, Tribhuvan University
National Law University Delhi
National University of Singapore
Peking University
Purbanchal University Chakrabarti HaBi Education Academy College of Law
Royal University of Law and Economics
Singapore Management University
Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
The National University of Mongolia
University of Sindh


Monash University


Freie Universität Berlin
Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
Galatasaray University
International University "MITSO"
International University of Sarajevo
Jagiellonian University
Kazan Federal University
Maastricht University
Moscow State Institute of International Relations (MGIMO University)
National University "Odessa Law Academy"
National University of "Kyiv-Mohyla Academy"
Panteion University of Social and Political Studies
Pazmany Peter Catholic University
Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski"
Taras Schevchenko National University of Kyiv
The Hague University of Applied Sciences
The London School of Economics and Political Science
Université Paris X Nanterre
University of Debrecen
University of Eastern Piedmont
University of Lodz
University of Novi Sad
University of Sheffield
University of Warsaw
Yaroslav Mudryi National Law University


Ain Shams University
Al Azhar University in Cairo
Birzeit University
Fateh Law Agency
German University in Cairo
Islamic Azad University of Tehran Central Branch
University of Qom