Nuremberg Moot Court 2021

The Nuremberg Moot Court 2021 ended on 30 July after the brilliant participation of more than 190 students from 46 universities located in 30 countries.

The 2021 competition took place online due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The case focused on the topical issues of enslavement as a crime against humanity and amnesties, allowing participants to address the relationship between international criminal law and transitional justice measures.

Judges consisted of high-profile international and national judges, prosecutors, academics, and civil society actors. Judge Raul Pangalangan, former ICC Judge, presided the Finals.

On 30 July, participants were invited to participate in the online award ceremony, where Director Klaus Rackwitz and Professor Christoph Safferling announced the winners.

Click here to watch the Finals.

For photos, visit our Facebook page.

Embedded YouTube video

Note: This embedded video is provided by YouTube, LLC, 901 Cherry Ave, San Bruno, CA 94066, USA.

During playback, a connection to the YouTube servers is established. This tells YouTube which pages you are visiting. If you are logged into your YouTube account, YouTube can assign your surfing behavior to you personally. You can prevent this by logging out of your YouTube account beforehand.

When a YouTube video is started, the provider uses cookies that collect information about user behavior.

Those who have deactivated the storage of cookies for the Google Ads program will not have to expect any such cookies when watching YouTube videos. However, YouTube also stores non-personal usage information in other cookies. If you would like to prevent this, you must block the storage of cookies in the browser.

For more information on data protection at "YouTube", please refer to the provider's privacy policy at: https://www.google.de/intl/en/policies/privacy/

Video of the Online Award Ceremony of the Nuremberg Moot Court 2021

Participating Universities


Cavendish University Uganda
Makerere University Kampala-Uganda
Strathmore University


Universidade Federal de Uberlândia
Creighton University School of Law
Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul
Universidad de la República Oriental del Uruguay


Denning Law School-Pakistan
East China University of Political Science and Law
General Sir John Kotelawela Defence University
Goverment College University, Faisalabad
JSC KIMEP University
Lloyd Law College, Greater Noida
Modern International Study (MIS) Centre
National University of Singapore
Royal University of Law and Economics
School of Law, Bennett University
Singapore Management University
The Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University
Universitas Gadjah Mada


Monash UniversityUniversity of Sydney




Babes-Bolyai University
BPP University
Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)
Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
Galatasaray Üniversitesi
Istanbul Center of International Law
Jagiellonian University
Koc University
Kutafin Moscow State Law University
Maastricht University
National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy
Pazmany Peter Catholic University
Queen Mary, University of London
Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv
Università degli Studi di Milano
Université de Lille
University of Oxford
University of Regensburg
University of Warsaw


Birzeit UniversityMenoufia University
University of Jordan

Joint Teams

Al-Azhar University
Udmurt State University - University of Nairobi - Southern Illinois University