Nuremberg Moot Court 2018

All seats were occupied in the historic Courtroom 600 of the Nuremberg Palace of Justice. In the place where more than 70 years ago, the main German war criminals were judged at the Nuremberg Trials, student teams from 45 countries closely followed the pleadings of the final round of the Nuremberg Moot Court 2018, which was held at the Nuremberg Palace of Justice in Germany from 25 to 28 July.

The finalists, selected in a single elimination tournament throughout various rounds, sat in front of the judge's bench representing the prosecution and the defense. Concentrated and confident, they argued to convince the judges, chaired by Judge Prof. Dr. Bertram Schmitt of the International Criminal Court, of their positions. The students demonstrated their legal skills on the question if “Mr. Balboa”, a leading politician and major industrialist of a fictitious state, could be held individually responsible for the persecution of minorities, enslavement and a cyberattack against the equally fictitious neighboring state. The competitors dealt with genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes, just as existing international criminal tribunals do as part of their everyday functioning.

In this final round, the team of Maastricht University from The Netherlands, consisting of Anna Lena Neidmann, Marie Vesayt, Victoria Marie Häberle and Kimberley Mills, outplayed the team of the National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy from Ukraine.



1st Place - Maastricht University - The Netherlands

2nd Place - National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy - Ukraine

Best Overall Speaker - John Bergstresser (Creighton University School of Law - USA

Second Best Overall Speakers - Mariia Raievska (National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy - Ukraine) and Anna Lena Neidmann (Maastricht University - The Netherlands)

Best Written Memorandum Prosecution – Peking University - China

Best Written Memorandum Defense – University of Copenhagen - Denmark

Best Prosecution 

Best Defense



Video of the final round of the Nuremberg Moot Court 2018

Participating Universities


American University of Afghanistan
Royal University of Law and Economics, Phnom Penh
Peking University
National Law University Jodhpur
Jamia Millia Islamia
Universitas Trisakti
Shahed University
Ala-Too International University
American University of Central Asia
The Holy Spirit University of Kaslik
National University of Malaysia
University of Mandalay
Indus College of Law
Lyceum of the Philippines University
National University of Singapore
Singapore Management University


Strathmore University
Tripoli University
University of Zululand
Kampala International University
Cavendish University Zambia


Yerevan State University
University in Stepanakert
Belarusian State University
International University “MITSO„
International University of Sarajevo
Sofia University “St. Kliment Ohridski„
Charles University
University of Copenhagen
Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University
Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg

Justus-Liebig-University Gießen
University of Regensburg
Panteion University of Social and Political Sciences
Pazmany Peter Catholic University
Trinity College Dublin
University of Milano-Bicocca
University of Eastern Piedmont
University of Prishtina
Maastricht University
The Hague University of Applied Sciences
University of Oslo
University of Silesia
Kazan Federal University
National Research University "Higher School of Economics"
Lund University
Geneva Academy of International Humanitarian Law and Human Rights
Özyegin University
National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy
University of Law, London
University of Sheffield


La Trobe University

North America

Creighton University-School of Law
Lincoln Memorial University – Duncan School of Law

South America

University of São Paulo
Mackenzie Presbyterian University
Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro